ORDINANCE

TOWN OF MOULTONBOROUGH, NEW HAMPSHIRE

An Ordinance Relative to Dog Control Regulation

Pursuant to a vote of the legal voters of the Town of Moultonborough held on March 2, 1976, at Article 16, the following ordinance is hereby ordained and established by the Board of Selectmen for the Town of Moultonborough in accord with RSA 31:39 (supp.):

- Section 1.1 This Ordinance may be referred to as the Moultonborough Leash Law.
- Section 1.2 The purpose of this ordinance is to require that all dogs in the Town of Moultonborough be kept under the control of their owners at all times so that they will not injure persons, damage property or create a nuisance.
- Section 1.3 The provisions of this ordinance which apply to the owners of the dog shall equally apply to any person having custody or possession of the dog.
- Section 1.4 It shall be unlawful to permit any dog to run at large within the Town of Moultonborough. The owner or keeper of a dog shall keep the dog on a leash or under the control of the owner or keeper whenever the dog is not on the property of the owner or keeper.
- Section 1.5 The term "under owner's control" shall mean that the dog is either:
 - a) on the property of the owner or keeper; or
 - b) the dog stays within a close proximity to its owner or keeper and responds promptly to verbal commands of the owner or keeper.
- Section 1.6 For the purposes of this ordinance "close proximity" allows for the training of dogs and the use of dogs for purposes of hunting.
- Section 1.7 Violation of any of the provisions of this ordinance shall be punishable by a fine of not less than twenty-five dollars (\$25.00), and each day of violation shall constitute a separate offense.

This ordinance shall take effect immediately. By order of the Selectmen in accord with authority by vote of the Town Meeting of March 2, 1976.

Harold E. Martin William H. Blackadar Martin Clifford BOARD OF SELECTMEN This Ordinance received review, revision and update. The Ordinance, as revised, received acceptance and enactment on September 21, 2006.

Karel A. Crawford, Chairman Edward J. Charest Ernest E. Davis, Jr. James F. Gray Joel R. Mudgett BOARD OF SELECTMEN